Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Banner Top
Ministry of Health Press Release: Monkey Pox Update

The Minister of State for Health, Osagie Ehanire has announced laboratory confirmation of  six additional cases among the suspected cases  for Monkeypox.


These include two cases each in Bayelsa and Akwa Ibom States, one in Enugu State and one in the Federal Capital Territory.  This brings to nine, the number of confirmed cases of Monkeypox in Nigeria.


Announcing this through a press release on Friday, Ehanire noted that investigations are on-going to see if any of the new cases has a link with the Bayelsa cluster, where the outbreak started.


He called for calm among members of the public, as the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) is working with all affected States to ensure case finding and adequate management.


He added that as frightening as the manifestation of the ailment may seem, no fatality has been recorded to date.


As at the 25th of October 2017, a total of 94 suspected cases have been reported from 11 States (Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Ekiti, Enugu, Imo, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Rivers) and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).


He noted that the newly confirmed cases are patients already being managed by public health authorities and have been receiving appropriate clinical care since onset of the illness.


Health care workers are strongly advised to take prescribed universal precautions while handling patients and/or body fluids at all times.



Banner Content
Tags: ,
%d bloggers like this: