Monday, September 20, 2021
Banner Top
Senate directs committees to submit 2018 budget reports

As the Senate warms up to pass the 2018 budget, the chamber yesterday, gave its Committee on Appropriations, latest next week, to collate and submit final reports of the various standing committees for its consideration and approval.


The President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, who gave this directive, also ordered all relevant committees scrutinizing budget proposals of different ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs) of government to submit their reports to the Senator Danjuma Goje-led Appropriations Committee.


That was as President Muhammadu Buhari wrote the Red chamber, requesting for the confirmation of 23 persons he nominated into the board of the National Population Commission (NPC).


He also requested the lawmakers to confirm two new non-legal practitioners as members of the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) and one National Commissioner for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


For the nomination into INEC, Buhari sought for confirmation of the appointment of Barrister Festus Okoye as a Federal Commissioner representing the South East Geo-Political zone in the nation’s electoral umpire.


The President’s letters seeking parliamentary approval for these nominations were read at the plenary by Saraki, who presided over the session.


In a letter dated March 27, 2018, Buhari had, in accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) of the1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), forwarded to the Senate for confirmation, names of 23 nominees to represent their respective states at the National Population Commission.


The nominees for the NPC board are; Nwanne Johnny Nwabuisi (Abia), Dr. Clifford T.O.Zirra (Adamawa), Mr. Chidi Christopher Ezeoje (Anambra), Barr. Issa Audu Buratai (Borno), Navy Captain Charles Iyam Ogwa (rtd) (Cross River), Sir Richard Odibo (Delta), Okereke Onuabuchi (Ebonyi), Olusegun Aiyejina (Edo) and Ejike Ezeh (Enugu).


Others are Hon. Abubakar Danburam (Gombe), Prof Uba Nnabue (Imo), Dr Abdulmalik Durunguwa (Kaduna), Suleiman Lawal (Kano), Prof. Jimoh Habibat Isah (Kogi), Dr. Sa’adu Ayinla Alanamu (Kwara), Nasir Isa Kwarra (Nasarawa) and Barrister Aliyu Datti (Niger).


Also on the list were Yeye (Mrs) Seyi Olusanya (Ogun), Prince (Dr) Oladiran Iyantan (Ondo), Senator Mudashiru Hussain (Osun), Mrs Cecelia Dapoet (Plateau), Dr. Ipalibo MacDonald (Rivers) and Sale Saany from Taraba State.


In the third letter from the President seeking for confirmation of membership appointments into the Federal Judicial Service Commission as non-legal practitioners, Senator Abba Ali from Katsina State is the nominee for the North West Geo- political zone and Mohammed Sagir from Niger State is nominee for the North Central geo- political zone.


Buhari also forwarded a letter of condolences to the Senate over the deaths of Senators Ali Wakili (APC, Bauchi South) and Mustapha Bukar (APC, Katsina North).
Wakili died on March 17, 2018 while Senator Bukar died in April 4, 2018.


Meanwhile, in accordance with Senate tradition whenever it loses its member, the apex chamber adjourned plenary after adoption of its votes and proceedings of the last plenary, in honour of Senator Bukar.


The Upper chamber will resume plenary today. However, it was not stated if the lawmakers would hold valedictory session today to pay homage to their deceased colleague.




Banner Content
Tags: , , ,
%d bloggers like this: