Friday, May 14, 2021
Banner Top
Police Commission promotes 3,665 officers to AIG, CP, other ranks

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the promotion of a total of 3,665 senior officers to the next ranks.


The commission, in a statement by its Head of Press and Public Relations, Mr. Ikechukwu Ani, said among beneficiaries of the exercise, were two Commissioners of Police (CPs) – Messrs Igbodo O. David, and Olalekan Abdulfatai – who were elevated to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police.


The commission further disclosed that 16 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) were promoted to the rank of CP, while 13 Assistant Commissioners of Police would now wear the rank of DCP.


“The Police Service Commission has approved the promotion of 3,665 senior Police officers”, the statement said.


It noted that the development was a fall-out of the Friday, June 8th plenary meeting, which was the last of such to be held by the Sir Mike Okiro-led Board, whose tenure expired on Tuesday.


It said:”The promotion was one of the high points of the Commission’s 28 Plenary Meeting which ended in Abuja on Friday, June 8th 2018. The plenary meeting was the last official function of the…Okiro PSC Board whose tenure came to an end on Monday, June 11, 2018.


“Two Commissioners of Police, Igbodo O. David, Cp, Legal, Force Headquarters and Olalekan Abdulfatai, CP, Works also of Force Headquarters were promoted substantive Assistant Inspectors General of General.


“Sixteen Deputy Commissioners of Police were also promoted to Commissioners of Police. They include DCP Wakili Maye and DCP Kurawa Abdullahi Sarki.


The Commission also approved the promotion of 13 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners, 60 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners and 631 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents.

“Promoted to ACP were Msheliza Simi Masomene, Samuel Osman Onoja of Police College, Oji River, Enugu State, Lateef Adio Ahmed and Umar Kabir among others. Promoted CSPs included Adekunle Char Ige, Bassey Essang, Liman Salisu Sulaiman and Emmanuel Adam.”


It added: “The Commission approved the promotion of 820 Deputy Superintendents of Police to substantive Superintendents. They include Ola Rosanla, Yusuf Abdulmumini and John Alesagba.


“Others, whose promotions were approved by the Commission, were 1,922 Assistant Superintendents of Police, ASPs, promoted to Deputy Superintendents. They Include ASP Chijioke Ogbodo, Divisional Police Officer, Umumba, in Enugu State, Arukwe Edward and Ozochi Amaechi Marcel, Area Crime Officer, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State.


“Two hundred and one Inspectors were promoted to Assistant Superintendent of police.


“The Commission also approved confirmation of appointments of 42 officers of different ranks, approved acting appointment for another 73 and converted 1,060 Specialists to General Duty ”


For consequential effect, the PSC stated that the promotions had been forwarded to the Inspector General of Police, Mr. Ibrahim Idris.



Banner Content
Tags: , , , ,
%d bloggers like this: