Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Banner Top
Breaking: Governor El-Rufai fires all political appointees in Kaduna
  The Nation reports that El-Rufai directed all political appointees in the state to submit their letters of resignation on or before April 30, 2019.
According to the report, after the resignations, the governor would exercise his constitutionally-derived powers to decide on who among them to re-appoint. It was learnt that the time frame for the resignation would afford the state finance ministry adequate time to compute severance payments and reconcile any liabilities.
  The directive from the governor shows that each notice of resignation must be submitted along with a handover note signed by the political appointee on behalf of the portfolio he held.
The directive adds that all the resignation letters should be properly addressed to the governor’s principal private secretary.
In a statement by Samuel Aruwan, the governor’s spokesperson, Malam El-Rufai thanked all political appointees for their contributions and service to the state during his first-term.
As he constitutes the team that will assist him in his second-term, the governor said he expects the process to be enriched by the handover notes from the political appointees, and the report of the transition committee headed by the deputy governor-elect, Hadiza Sabuwa Balarabe.
“The following appointees are expected to comply with the directive: all commissioners in the state executive council, all permanent secretaries, special advisers, directors-general, executive secretaries, managing directors, general managers and other heads of agencies, senior special assistants, special assistants and technical assistants to the governor, other than the Kashim Ibrahim Fellows,”
the statement said. Excluded from compliance with this directive are full-time commissioners of certain state executive bodies who retain their tenured appointments in the following agencies:
1. Fiscal Responsibility Commission
2. Civil Service Commission
3. Judicial Service Commission
4. Assembly Service Commission
5. The State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM
6.The Peace Commission
7. Public Procurement Authority
8. Water Regulatory Authority
The statement also exempted the following due to recent adjustments in roles within the government:
1. Principal Private Secretary
2. Accountant-General
3. Special Adviser, Intergovernmental Relations
4. Managing Director, Kaduna Markets Development Company
5. Managing Director, Kaduna Investment and Finance Company,
And any other political appointee sworn-in or appointed to their current role within the last six months.



Banner Content
Tags: , , , , , , ,
%d bloggers like this: